Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Current Board of Directors

President: Mike Barkalow, P.E. & L.S.I.

Mike is the City Engineer for the City of Marion. He is responsible for the administration, supervision, coordination, and control of the Engineering Department. His Engineering career started back in the private sector in High School and several summer internships. He has a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University (‘05), Master of Engineering in Engineering Management from Iowa State University (‘14) and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Iowa (’14). He recently held several positions at the ASCE EI YMG Board as well as other boards and committees.

Contact Mike

Vice President: William Mabuce, P.E., PO, ENV SP

Bill is the Engineering Project Manager for West Des Moines Water Works. His duties at the Water Works include engineering design and construction oversight of water infrastructure within the City of West Des Moines, utility locating, loss prevention, and supervision of engineering technicians. Prior to joining the Water Works in 2013, he worked for ten years at private consulting firms. He earned a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from the University of Minnesota, a bachelor of arts degree from Luther College, and a Master's degree in Business Administration from the University of Iowa. In addition to his engineering license, Bill holds a Grade 4 Professional Operator certificate, and both Grade 4 Water Distribution and Grade 2 Water Treatment licenses from the State of Iowa. Bill is also a former treasurer and past president of the CIYMG.

Contact Bill

Membership Director (2nd year): Ed Sowder, P.E.

Edward is a Project Engineer for Calhoun-Burns & Associates in West Des Moines, Iowa. He graduated from Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Construction Engineering and a Master of Business degree in Business Administration. Edward is a licensed professional engineer in Iowa. Edward’s experience is in bridge design and inspection throughout Iowa. In his free time, Edward enjoys fantasy football, swimming with his wife and two sons, and going to Iowa State wrestling meets.

Contact Ed

Coordinating Director (1st year): Dave Mulholland, P.E.

Dave is an Iowa native with a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering from Iowa State University. He is currently employed as a transportation engineer in the Bridges and Structures Bureau of the Iowa Department of Transportation. Dave has 25 years of experience in various aspects of civil engineering including preliminary bridge design, hydraulic\drainage analysis and design, water supply engineering, street and highway transportation design, residential and commercial development, construction review services and structural design for water and wastewater facilities.

Contact Dave

Associate Director: David Blanco, P.E.

David is a Project Engineer for Shoemaker and Haaland Professional Engineers in Coralville, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 2010 with a BS in Civil Engineering. Active in ASCE as a student, he was a 4-year member of the steel bridge team with 2 as a captain, and on the concrete canoe team during his senior year. He later spent three years in Washington, D.C. designing high rise buildings and participating in the Structural Engineering Association-Metro Washington Young Members Group as a board member. Upon returning to Iowa, he joined the ASCE Eastern Iowa Young Members Board. During his career in Iowa he has primarily worked on large scale industrial facilities, designing foundations of all types and the above ground structures.

Contact David

Secretary: Della Caldwell, E.I.

Della is a Project Engineer at MMS Consultants, Inc. in Iowa City. She graduated from the University of Iowa with a BS in Civil Engineering in 2013, and a MS in Urban and Regional Planning as well as a Graduate Certificate in Transportation Studies in 2016. At MMS, Della works on a variety of project types, including stormwater analysis and design for county and city projects, general single lot and subdivision concepts, and public improvements including small scale wastewater treatment and street rehabilitation. Della has been an active member of ASCE since freshman year at Iowa. Della’s passion has always been involvement in K-12 STEM outreach. She has been a Future City coach for many years, and volunteers regularly local schools and STEM fairs.

Contact Della

Financial Officer: Justin Widdel, P.E.

Justin earned his BS in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University in 2005. Since graduating, he has worked as a Project Engineer for Terracon Consultants, Inc. in Cedar Rapids focusing on geotechnical and construction materials testing services on projects throughout eastern Iowa. Justin is a past president of the Eastern Iowa Younger Member group and has been an active member of ASCE since 2008.

Contact Justin

Communications Officer: Stephanie Then Hooge, P.E.

Steph is a Water Resources Engineer with HDR, Inc. She graduated from the University of Iowa with a BS in Civil Engineering in 2015 and a MS in Civil and Environmental Engineering in 2016. Her project experience at HDR includes hydrologic and hydraulic analysis in support of floodplain analysis, flood mitigation, bridge design, and stormwater and sanitary conveyance.

Contact Steph

Past President: Kari Sebern, P.E.

Kari obtained a BS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from South Dakota State University in Brookings, SD in 2002 and then gained structural design experience working for private industry in Denver, CO. Kari relocated to Panora, Iowa in 2009 and formed Sebern Structural Services shortly thereafter. Sebern Structural focuses on providing structural design for small to medium scale building structures and forensic engineering for residential structures.

Contact Kari

Region VII Assembly Delegate: Ben Cole, P.E.

Ben has been a member of ASCE for over 17 years and has been an active member for many of these years. Ben began his involvement with ASCE with the Student Chapter at the University of Iowa. After graduation, Ben began his career in the Des Moines area and it was long until he became involved with the Central Iowa Younger Member Group, going on to serve 6 years on the CIYMG Board. Ben continued his involvement with the Iowa Section Board of Directors, for an additional 6 years, serving as President in ‘15/’16. 

While serving in these capacities, Ben has had the privilege of attending ASCE leadership conferences, attending ASCE’s D.C. 

Legislative Fly-In meeting with Iowa’s Congressional Delegation, participated in Iowa Section’s launch of the 2015 Infrastructure Report Card, supporting ASCE’s technical conferences, volunteering with various K-12 outreach activities, as well as many other events and activities…all with the intention of advancing and promoting the Civil Engineering profession in Iowa. Ben was awarded the Iowa Section’s Associate Member of the Year in 2009 and most recently the Iowa Section’s Outstanding Government Civil Engineer in 2019.

Ben is looking forward to his renewed involvement with the Iowa Section, serving as a Corresponding Member for ASCE Region 7, representing the Iowa Section. Ben will help facilitate communication between the Iowa Section and Region 7 Board of Governors.

Contact Ben